40 Plus MOMS

Raising children at 40

First Santa Clause Parade

3 Comments

Well it turned out to be my daughter’s fourth Santa Claus parade and not yet my son’s…It’s the third year in a row where he’s fallen asleep on our way to the parade.  He was adorable when he finally woke up from his deep slumber, “where’s Santa,” he repeatedly asked.  Ironically we took him out to a restaurant and coincidently an older gentleman with white long hair and beard sat a table over from us.  So he was satisfied that he saw Santa that day. True story.

Pre-parade

There’s a whole ceremony pre the Santa Clause parade.  First is the mantra of good behaviour which is best spelled out by the “Santa Clause is Coming to Town” carol:

You better watch out
You better not cry
Better not pout
I’m telling you why
Santa Claus is coming to town

He’s making a list
And checking it twice
Gonna find out Who’s naughty and nice
Santa Claus is coming to town

He sees you when you’re sleeping
He knows when you’re awake
He knows if you’ve been bad or good
So be good for goodness sake!

O! You better watch out!
You better not cry
Better not pout
I’m telling you why
Santa Claus is coming to town
Santa Claus is coming to town

Second is the list, it may sound like a material thing to get kids to write down their wish list for Santa, but I use it as a way to get my kids excited about writing, drawing and story telling.  I also get them thinking about gifts that they can share and give to other children who are less fortunate.  Lastly, I know we’ll all enjoy going through the letters in future years to come too.   By the way, if you want to receive a reply letter from Santa, you can send the letter to the “North Pole” by December 16th through Canada Post’s elves.

Liliana Polcari

Here’s the 2014 list ; Photo: Liliana Polcari

 

Parting thought on the topic:

Each year that we have gone, what I enjoy the most is reliving these childhood experiences like the Santa Claus parade.  I’ve lost interest by the time I was ten, but going now rekindles fond memories of the holiday season.  The floats and bands were amazing; I’ve pasted some pictures below.  True to form, although I was cold after about 15 minutes, my six year-old daughter wasn’t fazed at all by the weather.  Her big smile after seeing Santa was priceless.

Liliana Polcari

Santa has arrived; Photo: Liliana Polcari

  Liliana Polcari 

And I’m excited to say that next year, I’m sure I’ll get to experience my son’s first Santa Claus parade.

 

What’s your favourite Santa Clause moment with kids?

3 thoughts on “First Santa Clause Parade

  1. We went to the parade this year as well! It was my first time (and my daughter’s). I have to admit…experiencing the holidays through my daughter’s eyes is actually pretty magical, even for a cynic like me.

    Like

  2. That’s really cute. Surprisingly, I’ve never been before in my life. So thanks for the heads up on what to expect. I shall make it out one year!

    Like

  3. I love the artwork on that letter! So adorable and creative. One of my favourite things to do when I worked at a small-town paper was read the letters to santa from local kids that we would post in December. I was always amazed by how many of them asked for things for other people. So sweet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

